NO conversion at all. Live in CA - warm yrround. MB 300d

Single Tank WVO systems and blending SVO WVO to thin it.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

NO conversion at all. Live in CA - warm yrround. MB 300d

Postby composer_v » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:36 pm

I'm total newbie. Like 3 days into it.
I'm wondering if I can get away w/ not converting anything or not doing any modifications at all to MB 300D for example. What if I have very clean oil (did the settlement, separation, etc), can I just use it w/ stock system that's on the MB already? Can I mix it w/ regular diesel. I live in California. It's pretty hot here. If I can't get away w/ not modifying at all, what can I do to keep the modifications to minimum?
I would appreciate all tips. Thanks.
composer_v

Re: NO conversion at all. Live in CA - warm yrround. MB 300d

Postby SunWizard » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:07 pm

I have run >60,000 miles in 5 years on V80/D20 unheated blend on my old 300D.
Blending is not as risky on a mercedes since they have a special feature in the pre-chamber that works like a glow plug on all the time.

See:
about12.html?hilit=blend
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby composer_v » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:45 pm

Wait, you said V80/D20, does it mean Vegie 80% and Diesel 20%?
Thanks
composer_v

Postby SunWizard » Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:09 pm

composer_v wrote:Wait, you said V80/D20, does it mean Vegie 80% and Diesel 20%?

Yes.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby composer_v » Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:19 pm

Wow. That's amazing. The reason why I asked because in the tread you post the link to, you said
"I'm using a mix of up to 20% canola oil, 80% ULSD, plus 0.2% acetone, and 0.2% pure gum turpentine, in a 90 litre, [24 gallon] tank."
So, it was 20/80 but the other way.