new to wvo, high expectations.

If new, go here first. Beginner questions, Forum help, suggestions and more FAQ.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

new to wvo, high expectations.

Postby akcoalroller » Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:48 pm

Hey guys, I've been collecting wvo for a little while now and almost have my filtration setup done. I purchased design plans online for the filtration setup. Have a 1/2hp pump to filter the oil from the dirty 55gallon drum to the clean 55gallon drum. All oil heated before transfer. The oil is to be filtered down to 5microns then suppose to be safe to use pending test results. I have several hundred gallons as of right now. My two vehicles to work with are a 1997 dodge ram 2500 12v (best engine cummins made for light duty trucks imo) also a 1981 Volkswagen rabbt 1.6l n/a (got it for free pulled it out of a field lol) took me four days to get the car running and its been doing great for months. I am a diesel tech by trade and I believe that this oil should have no problem being burnt through my vehicles. I'm not requiring myself to run wvo during winter but if i can find a safe way of doing so i will. I am trying to be inexpensive but not fully sure if that's going to be possible. I currently run jetA in both vehicles full time, and ulsd when I feel like it. I have read threads that state that preheating can be nessasary depending on weather. The rabbit is stock with a twin filter setup, the cummins has a few mods to the injectionpump but nothing extreme (possibly 150-180hp over stock, guessing). I would prefer to blend fuels or just run straight wvo if possible. Looking for safe ways to do this while running single tank systems if possible is preheating going to be nessasary if weather is below 50 degrees f? Any help or comments will be greatly appriciated. Very excited for this project! Thanks in advance.
akcoalroller

Re: new to wvo, high expectations.

Postby John Galt » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:18 am