1.6l rabbit wvo blending

Single Tank WVO systems and blending SVO WVO to thin it.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

1.6l rabbit wvo blending

Postby akcoalroller » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:44 pm

I am currently running my rabbit of a blend of 40%veg and 60%jeta. I started the car on a 50/50 mixture but I'm not running heat yet so the car ran great for about a minute then lugged out and died. Added some jet to the racor and to the tank and then the car fired up and ran great. Any pros or cons to what i am doing? I'm going to route my coolant lines in several areas to transfer some heat over to the fuel but I do plan on running a fphe here in awhile. Pros and cons to fphe? Where is the best spot to mount? I have tested the fuel for water and didn't get any boiling or cracking up to 250degrees f. Thanks in advance guys, I'm new at this so any advice is helpful.
akcoalroller

Re: 1.6l rabbit wvo blending

Postby SunWizard » Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:16 pm

akcoalroller wrote:Any pros or cons to what i am doing?

Pro: simple. Con: filters will plug and you don't have a switch to flip like a 2 tank rig when it happens, and you can't blend in the winter (<20F at night) unless its such low % of WVO that its not worth it. 2 tank rig is cheaper in the long run since you have no cost of blend fuel in each tank.
Pros and cons to fphe?

Nothing but good, provides more heat and is perfectly regulated.
Where is the best spot to mount?

Anywhere you can fit it, while keeping the lines short.
I have tested the fuel for water and didn't get any boiling or cracking up to 250degrees f.

Thats not what to look for in the hot pan test. See:
Test Methods for Water in SVO
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby akcoalroller » Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:02 pm