Starting conversion--Questions

A description and pics of your SVO WVO Vegetable Oil conversion, help the next person who gets that model.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Starting conversion--Questions

Postby Bear Pen » Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:14 pm

I've been burning WVO in a 92 Dodge for about six years--50 gal tank behind cab, heated racor 1000 on tank, three solenoid valves, 3/8 aluminum fuel line in 1"PEX line. What I DID NOT have was a FPHE to heat the grease just before the IP, and I think I coked the engine from using grease that was under 160 degrees.
I just bought a 98 12-valve Dodge and I'm about to convert it to WVO, with much the same system as my '92, except that I'm going to add an FPHE. Man, they didn't giver a feller much room to work on this newer truck! My valves, and the FPHE will be mounted on a plate on top of the valve covers.
My question is about tapping into the heater line for my hot water. What about doing away with the hard line altogether and go straight from the short 90 degree rubber line to the FPHE, which is right there close by? Then I would run the return H2O from the tank to the heater inlet. Hopefully there would still be some heat left for the cab.
One more thing (so far).....how do you post photos on this site? I'd like to show you guys my filter heater--it's the best!!

Old Hippie Homesteader in N. Arkansas
Off-grid (solar) for 40 years
1985 MB 300D
1998 Dodge Cummins
Off-Grid for 40 years
Solar powered home and shop
''85 MB 300D
'98 2WD Dodge Cummins w/ homebuilt 2-tank system
Belarus 240AN tractor--Diesel
Kubota 4400 diesel tractor
'39 Allis Chalmers "B" tractor gasburner
Bear Pen

Re: Starting conversion--Questions

Postby SunWizard » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:01 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum. You have almost the same vehicles as me!