1992 - Bluebird Bus WVO Conversion (Sunwizard) - Update 8/28

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

1992 - Bluebird Bus WVO Conversion (Sunwizard) - Update 8/28

Postby White99z » Sun May 11, 2014 10:38 pm

Hello Everyone,

Just last week, we received our conversion parts for our 1992 Bluebird School bus. It is a 5.9 Cummins and has a P7100 Bosch Injection Pump. I know they didn't put them in the trucks and other vehicles til later, but they were in the buses thankfully 8) The bus has 79,000 miles on it and runs great. We are converting it to live in full time and travel the country. I am a touring musician and play and tour full time for a living. I have been to 20 countries in the past 5 years with my music. My girlfriend is a yoga teacher and is passionate about photography. She also runs our travel blog http://www.livelovetraveldream.com and takes care of a lot of behind the scenes stuff to keep us flowing smoothly. Originally, I made some posts on the site as we were planning on buying a friend's bus that was already converted. On the final test drive, it stalled several times and signs were pointing to an possible Injection Pump failure. The price was already high and we decided to move on and start with a stock bus that hadn't been messed with and do it ourselves.

Here's a photo of our bus:

After a lot of research, we decided to go with mostly WVO Designs parts and their centrifuge for an on-board filtering setup. After some chatting with Leon, the owner, they decided to sponsor our project, which is really exciting for us. This is a first conversion for me and I have been spending many, many late nights researching the system and figuring how to adapt SunWizard's setup for our bus. I am sure we will have lots of questions as we go. This week, I will be rounding up parts such as fittings, fuel line, coolant hose, etc.

Here's our conversion parts list so far: