Cat irrigation engine on WVO

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Cat irrigation engine on WVO

Postby warrior-p » Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:18 pm

cat1 (640x480).jpg
cat1 (640x480).jpg (236.28 KiB) Viewed 218 times
I have a Cat 3054 diesel engine I use on the farm to flood my rice fields. I am a mechanical engineer specializing in filtration of commercial fryers. I am planning on installing a wvo system this week as my diesel bill is thru the roof. I have access to wvo. The previous farmer ran this powerhead on wvo & his international 1066. However, neither systems were heated and I know I need to be within 160-190F for proper combustion. I plan on a two tank system utilizing manual valves to turn on the wvo and off to purge with diesel. However, the current cat engine has two fuel filters on it: one before the fuel pump and one after both of which are using a Wix 33546 fuel/water stabilizer. I am located in North LA and it is hot as hell here right now (100F). I do not really care about the winter but we may see some cooler nights in october in the 60's. Engine's normal operating temp in the middle of the day is 180-190 but will drop to 150 at night

Here is my plan: