1990 F250 dual stock tank

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

1990 F250 dual stock tank

Postby Me_Rock » Wed May 20, 2015 2:16 am

Howdy folks,

I'm brand new to burning veg. I've collected about 25 gallons of oil and it's settling for now... Still running on diesel, there's no need to get hasty here.

My old 7.3 liter farm rig has two tanks stock. Is it recommendable to run vegetable oil in one tank and diesel in the other? This is the stock fuel system, so I'm a little concerned about the fuel return going in to the wrong tank. It's getting quite warm here this time of year, and the Internet seems to say that I might be able to get away with it running filtered oil unheated.

In a few months It'll be harvest time. I'll be driving semi trucks (the 14 liter kind) and making the big bucks, so I'll be able to afford a fully heated kit... I'm thinking about GreaseCar. The major downside to this kit that I see is that it costs the same amount that my whole pickup truck did. Has anyone plumbed the stock dual tanks in the F250 to be a fully heated and separate system? A conversion that utilizes an already existing dual tank setup would make things a lot cheaper, but the reliability of a full heated system is attractive. Especially since winters here can get colder than -10 degrees F... I hear that it's quite difficult to run a pickup on a frozen solid block of grease.

Does anyone have any input on this?

Thanks!
Me_Rock

Re: 1990 F250 dual stock tank

Postby jburke » Wed May 27, 2015 10:15 am

Hi ,
I have been doing what you are considering for 12 years in my '92 dual-tank F-250.
It is all stock except for a 16-plate 3" x 8" FPHE installed between the lift pump and the fuel filter.