Coolant vs Solar to Heat on-board centrifuge

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Coolant vs Solar to Heat on-board centrifuge

Postby puravida » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:46 am

Hello Greasers,

New to this forum, scouring for answers to avoid a redundant post, but still unsure of a couple things. Thanks to everyone for all your work and dedication!

I have an already converted '92 International short but with a brand new e-350 7.3l. I'm planning to build Sun Wizards centrifuge design on board...hopefully I'll find a way to mount it on the back of the bus (?!?!). We are traveling to Central America from New England and on-the-go oil filtering is going to be essential.

The problem I'm facing now is in regards to getting enough power to juice the heating elements. I'm not an electrician (or a mechanic) so I've been consulting the (semi)professionals. The general consensus is that powering 2-4500KW 240v water heater heating elements for 4-5 hours will be too much demand on the bus' internal power, and that I'll need to find an alternative source. One suggestion was solar panels on the roof. One thought was better and more power efficient to harness heat from the coolant lines.

My questions are:
-What sort of solar power $ystem would be required to power the heating elements and motor in Sun Wizard's design?
-What are the disadvantages, if any, of using the coolant system instead of the inline heaters?
-Would tapping into the coolant system inhibit the heating performance of the other elements of the veg system? (clean veg tank, heated filters, etc) ---Would I need to add more water to the system to compensate for the additional length of line (probably 10 feet send and 10 feet return)