Ready to order stuff but I need some advice?!!!

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Ready to order stuff but I need some advice?!!!

Postby Radrick » Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:10 pm

Well I am finally ready to start ordering and then building my wvo system. I have several questions, I will also outline the system as I am planning to build it so that everyone can give me any feedback on possible issues or just to voice opinions.
First off I am planning on using a single valve system with two lift pumps both with check valves, similar to the system recently installed on vegmiesters truck.
Sun I read your piece on TIH ver. HOH and the heat transfer differences. Since I am a mechanical designer and do hydronic heating design I am very familiar with the information you stated in that thread. I didn't have any real GPM numbers for the coolant or fuel so I didn't bother doing a calc as without this info the only thing that can be accomplished is a comparison between to systems. I never thought of doing this on the HOH ver TIH so nice thinking. This was a very clear cut example of the differences. I have several areas that I can't really come up with data for without the GPM numbers. I will list them below to see what you think.
1. will the cheap $19 heat exchanger be adequate to heat my diesel up to 100F on a -20F day? keep in mind that the factory fuel filter is below and behind the intake in the lifter valley.
2. With 6' of TIH between my lift pump and heated filter will a 10 plate FPHE be sufficient for my wvo?
3. I have been working on possible ways to make a filter wrap that utilizes metal on filter heat transfer. I have been looking at a two copper plates soldered together in a U shape wrapped around the filter and clamped. Has anyone come up with a metal on filter wrap?