heated mild steel tank

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

heated mild steel tank

Postby wydra » Thu May 08, 2008 4:27 pm

My dad recently aquired a 96 dodge ram after having seing the so far success of my conversion of my 92 ford. He recently purchased a tank/toolbox combo from the local farm store. I pleaded with him not to do it(he is stubborn) and that he should get a stainless one from northern tool.

Question is, since I am still a newb at this, should he take the tank back since it has not been used yet? Is it really that big of a deal that its mild steel instead of stainless? polymerization more of an issue since it will have a hotfox?

thanks all
wydra

Postby SunWizard » Thu May 08, 2008 4:41 pm

Welcome to the forums. Whether poly will be an issue depends on many factors, steel is not the biggest factor, type of VO, time in the tank, and temp are the main factors, see the poly thread here:
http://www.burnveg.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=40

Many of the factors creating poly are hard to control, but the metal you use in the tank is an easy one to control. Aluminum works as well as stainless, and plastic is even better.
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby David » Thu May 08, 2008 6:08 pm

Most Vehicle tanks are Mild steel and the greatest majority of people who run veg have no problem with poly in them. You can get poly in any tank and I would be more concerned about making sure you dried your oil throughly before I was too worried over the tank I used. Stainless or ally may be better but they are not essential and having a mild steel tank is no more guarantee of trouble than having an ally or stainless tank is a guarantee you won't.