Problem with centrifuge

Collecting, filtering and dewatering of WVO SVO vegetable oil. For Biodiesel producers too.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Problem with centrifuge

Postby Muleears » Sun May 25, 2008 2:12 am

I have a filterfuge ff25 that I have been using for 6+ months so I am quite familiar with its operation, and it has been working great. Yesterday it began to give me some trouble however. It no longer seems to spin up to the RPM's it used to. And it occasionally floods itself as if the outlet were plugged. I let in run for 4 hrs. on a fresh batch of settled oil and it barely removed anything. Here is what I know:

Jets are clean and clear
oil temp is 155-160*F
PSI is 95
outlet clear
discharge from outlet seems to be normal
all internal passageways appear clean
replaced O ring at bottom of rotor
Same motor/pump/plumbing it has always had

I thought maybe some polymerized oil had collected on the spindle and was slowing the rotation so I cleaned it up with some 1500 grit sandpaper and no change. Next I'll try a stiff brush (like a gun cleaning brush) on the inside to see if that helps.

I am almost sure something is binding to slow it down, that would explain the flooding as well.
Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Cal Genereux
Southeast VA
98 E300D, two tanked, Greasecar
87 300D Turbo, Blend
Muleears

Postby SunWizard » Sun May 25, 2008 8:44 am

How is your bearing slop? Several have reported new filterfuges with excess bearing slop, they can tilt it back and forth on the spindle a little. Maybe you have too much slop, and wear has made it worse enough that it can wobble and make it slow down. Is it any louder when running than it used to be?
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby Muleears » Sun May 25, 2008 12:52 pm