98 Dodge 12 valve conversion help with design

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

98 Dodge 12 valve conversion help with design

Postby 123eddie » Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:44 am

What do you think about this design. Small tank in bed like Sunwizards but used for diesel and the stock 35 gallon tank used for wvo. Possible FASS fuel system with filters from Roverhybrids or heated filter and FPHE from BMWfan. I live in southern CA and the truck will likely vacation where it is also warm so I'm thinking I don't need HIH or HOH. Even though this truck has a great lift pump I thinking about using an aux. fuel pump to keep keep the systems separate. Preferences on switching valves would be appricated. I think that Sunwizard has it right with the manual. I promise to post pictures of build and use your combined experience. I have been running wvo in mercede since december 2007 and with all my research I now can claim to have 5 yrs experience and probably another 5 by next post. At the end of this install who knows maybe 20 years experience. Seriously with the information and talent given so freely on this site one could claim to have 100 yrs experiance.
Thanks
123eddie

Postby SunWizard » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:42 pm

Heated pickup and lines is worth it since you can run PHO which is much easier to find. Without it even in S. CA I wouldn't run PHO. Consider running VO on the stock lift pump and D2 with an add-on, since nothing comes close to the strength and reliability of the stock pump. Also you can't deadhead the stock pump.
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby 123eddie » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:21 pm