I would be grateful for the advice of an engineer.

Collecting, filtering and dewatering of WVO SVO vegetable oil. For Biodiesel producers too.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

I would be grateful for the advice of an engineer.

Postby all_grown_up » Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:10 pm

I had someone build me a cone bottomed 55 gallon drum with stand for settling before the centrifuge tank. I am going to mount it on a plywood stand with wheels. Normally my rolling platforms are not very scientifically constructed as I am not an engineer and my math is poor. However the notion of having a 55+ drum of WVO tip over is disconcerting. The center of gravity on this will be very high as the oil will reside between 3 ft and 6 ft off the ground.

I have pictures but apparently cannot upload them to the site.

Could someone provide a formula or advice for evaluating how wide the plywood base should be. I am thinking 4 ft square.

I would be happy to send pics.

thanks[/img]
all_grown_up

Postby SunWizard » Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:16 pm

It mostly would depend on how level and rough your surface is, and what size wheels you use. No easy formula, a nicely smooth flat surface with good wheels wouldn't cause a sideways tipping force so smaller is OK.
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby HoldOnTight » Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:30 pm

Tipping could be caused by tilting the drum, or applying a side force too high up. If you pull it with a rope attached to the base, that would be best for moving.