any other 3rd gen cummins blending?

Single Tank WVO systems and blending SVO WVO to thin it.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

any other 3rd gen cummins blending?

Postby buzzinhalfdoz » Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:52 pm

hello everyone, i am new to the forum, it is nice to be on a forum where they arent trying to sell u something. i drive a 03 cummins 2500 4x4 common rail truck.i use a winter front grille cover from nov untill march. i drive a lot, maby 200-300 miles a day, 4 days a week, members on my truck forum say u cant run wvo in a 3rd gen common rail. i have been doing it for about 4 months now, about 12,000 miles. i let it set in a heated shop at least a week, then i cold filter it through blue jeans, then a 2 micron filter bag, then through a 2 micron plumbing filter, and last through a goldenrod tank fuel filter(15micron) gravity feed, i only use the top 4 gallon out of a 4 1/2 gal cube. my winter mix is 4 gal wvo, 1/2 gal rug, 30 gal #2. i park in a heated shop(60 degrees) , and no smoke at startup or any other time( maby if i baby it for 2-3 days then slam the skinny pedal, a slight brownish haze for about 2 seconds is all i c.
anyone else blending in a 3rd gen cummins? am i doing anything wrong? any ideas. thanks :D
03 cummins 2500,4x4,some mpg mods,25%wvo,240,000 miles now,original IP,+50hp sticks,work truck
buzzinhalfdoz

Postby John Galt » Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:39 pm

Welcome to the best VO fuel forum on the 'net.

Looks like you're doing all the right things for a successful fuel blend. My only suggestion would be to add a FPHE upstream of the filter and IP. In my experience diesels like hot fuel blends, especially in the winter.
John Galt

Postby coachgeo » Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:58 am

John Galt wrote:.... My only suggestion would be to add a FPHE ....
Hot blends.... makes perfect since.. hmmm but with RUG? wont that vaporize?
Life; It's all in the Balance

coachgeo

Postby John Galt » Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:56 am

coachgeo wrote: