How long to spin

Collecting, filtering and dewatering of WVO SVO vegetable oil. For Biodiesel producers too.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

How long to spin

Postby Grif » Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:29 pm

Hello all. I am new to this veggie thing (been spinning (OC-20) and running WVO in my F250 in a single tank for about 2 years in the summer time here in Wisconsin...mixing 50:50 of WVO and Dino).

My question how long to spin 45 gallons of WVO? I have always done shorter batches (25-35 gallons) and they have worked out great (can see the bottom of the 55 gallon drum with 30 gallons of WVO in it.) I heat the oil to ~160-170* and spin, after I see noting/very little in the rotor (and catching the flow though after the pump is shut off) I out it though a 1 micro spin on filter and then let sit. I then pump the clean oil (staying 2-3 inches off the bottom of the barrel and checked the pH of the oil and it was about 7.0) into my F250 tank and mix with dino. The thing is with this batch I have some thing white floating in the oil after 54 hours of spinning!! I looks like fat bit very thin chunks of fat. The last 4 hours I spun I did not get much on the rotor so I thought it was done, so today I went to pump it though the 1 micron spin on and saw the white floating chunks. The oil was about 95* and I tried to push it though my 1 micron spin on and it really was moving slow.

Am I right to think this is fat that is floating in there? This batch of oil was really dirty to start with but I thought the spinning took out most of the "gunk". When the oil is hot (~170*) I do not see the white chunks.

Sorry so long but anyone have any suggestions? :D
Grif

Postby SunWizard » Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:17 pm

Welcome to the forum.

Yes that sounds like fat, it can be solid at 95F. The easiest way to remove it is cold settling for a few weeks.
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.