1998 Dodge Cummins WVO conversion valve question

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

1998 Dodge Cummins WVO conversion valve question

Postby paulkrohn1 » Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:50 pm

I installed my WVO system in my 12V CTD just as you designed. However, I installed a coolant heated WVO filter purchased from FryBrid. My WVO temps stay within ten degrees of my coolant temperature. Honestly, I wish she would run hotter because my WVO temps are rarely above 160 when its' below 40 degrees outside. Here's my problem: I've been using the manual iboat 3/8 brass valves for approx ten months now. About three months ago and approx. ten thousand miles running WVO, I had the filter manual valve fail. The valve started to get more difficult to turn then finally the stem stripped away from the ball valve. When I took it apart it also looked as if the ball valve had dropped from the seat that supports it allowing the stem to strip from it. I replaced it with another iboat valve and today after experiencing the same things as last time the valve is now stuck on the Diesel filter port. Good for me this time because at least I can drive it. I've noticed lately as well that all three valve are operating hard when I switch to Diesel however, operate fine when switching to WVO and the valves are much cooler.

Do you have any idea why I'm having this trouble with the iboat valves? McMaster has other robust valves but the stems are not long enough. I like the manual valve system you designed which has been trouble free for me until now.
98 12 Valve, BHAF, Fuel Plate, conversion in-process
paulkrohn1

Postby dark_flame221 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:35 pm

sorry for hikacing, but what do you mean by d2 filter port ?, i know it's related to to filter valve but ?
dark_flame221

Postby SunWizard » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:36 pm