Where do I buy new SVO in bulk in San Francisco area?

Collecting, filtering and dewatering of WVO SVO vegetable oil. For Biodiesel producers too.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Where do I buy new SVO in bulk in San Francisco area?

Postby kevin » Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:09 pm

Hello,

I am new to all of this. I am considering buying a 2000-2006 VW Golf TDI and installing an http://www.elsbett.com/ single tank system. These one tank systems are only warranted if used with new vegetable oil. I see I can buy 35 pound boxes of new oil at Costco, but that seems like not the best solution.

Wouldn't it be better to find an oil wholesaler that would allow me to buy in 55 gallon drums or 275 gallon totes? I have spent over an hour on Google looking for a way to buy oil in such quantities, but I have come up with nothing. I found BulkOil.com, but that site is not friendly, and they seem to show lots of exotic oils like pumpkin oil. It also appears that site is about buying rail cars or ships full of oil, not individual drums or totes. Am I just not using that site correctly?

If I am successful with getting a Golf TDI to run on SVO, I am then going to want to power my RV bus conversion with SVO. This 40 foot bus takes 100+ gallons to fill up, so buying boxes of oil at Costco is going to be cumbersome.

Finally, if I buy new oil, do I need to filter and dewater it, or is it ready to go?

Note that currently I am not considering collecting my own WVO, as I live in San Francisco, so I presume the biodiesel sellers have locked up via contract all the good sources of oil long ago. Also, I don't have the time or space to process the oil myself. I am not doing this project to save money. I am willing to pay more than diesel prices. But I want the experience to be as easy and trouble free as possible. I do have space to store a tote or two of new oil, however.

Thanks for all your suggestions.

Kevin
kevin

Re: Where do I buy new SVO in bulk in San Francisco area?