Can't stop burning WVO

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Can't stop burning WVO

Postby othello » Wed May 05, 2010 6:10 pm

I just bought an 85 Mercedes 300TD with a Greasecar kit installed.
The previous owner had done the conversion, then lost interest and never used the car much, let alone on WVO.

I am new to all this and have no experience in filtering my own oil, but I am eager to learn. But I was very disappointed when after 400 miles I had to change my first waste oil filter, I thought I had done a better job in making clean oil, but apparently not.

The 2nd filter showed signs of a hesitating engine after only 250 miles, in spite of the fact that I had done an extremely careful job of filtering the oil numerous times.

When the car hesitated and didn't seem to have much power I switched to regular diesel and the engine immediately picked up, so it was definitely a fuel issue. But when out of curiosity I switched back to WVO, oftentimes I could go for many miles with good performance before the effect occurred again.

I started to think that perhaps something was sucked against the intake line in the tank, causing the loss of power, but when I switched and the suction stopped the obstruction floated away into the grease tank, explaining why afterwards, for a while, the performance was back to normal.
This was my theory.

Today I opened the grease tank and cleaned it. It wasn't all bad except that around the copper heating pipe I found a layer of dried and burnt oil. When I scraped it of it looked like a snakeskin right after the snake discarded it.
If I would know how to upload a photo I could show you.

I guess what happened that the previous owner drove around with a half filled tank of veggie oil, the level of which never changed, and the heated coil, over time ,polymerized the oil into a thick layer.