Hi All

If new, go here first. Beginner questions, Forum help, suggestions and more FAQ.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

Hi All

Postby zaca33 » Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:46 am

Hello everyone. I am the proud new owner of a W123 Mercedes. It's a 300D body, but the previous owner put in a turbo engine. The previous owner also began installing a greasecar kit. He got it to the point where I now need to run the fuel lines and wire it all up.

I am completely new to diesels. It sounds like there is a ticking coming from the engine. On a gas powered car I think i might be concerned, but I'm not sure if that's just the way its supposed to sound. I was going to make a video and post a link a little later, maybe someone would be able to tell me.
It does sound and awful lot like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17uvOOEV4gA&feature=related

I'm sure I'll be here a lot as I try and get her up and running!

Thanks guys
1979 W123 Mercedes 300D body and 300TD engine
zaca33

Postby SunWizard » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:42 am

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Yes those engines tick, since they have solid lifters. You are supposed to check and adjust them every 10k miles. More modern engines have hydraulic lifters which make them much quieter and never need adjusting.
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby coachgeo » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:22 pm

yep... that is a diesel sound. Even the newer quit ones have that same rhythmic tick... just less audible.