What about using exhaust to heat svo?

For discussing the modifications needed for diesel vehicles to run with 2 tank veggie oil conversions.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

What about using exhaust to heat svo?

Postby Luckyr » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:10 pm

My buddy and I were brainstorming of cheap ways to heat svo and we came up with the idea of wrapping some copper tubing around your exhaust or simply running it along the exhaust pipe before it gets to your IP or filter or wherever. My only reservations is that it might get it too hot. But I am no expert, which is why I am asking you all. Any ideas?
1994 Dodge 3500, flatbed, 5.9 cummins, flatbed, dually, 5spd, all around farm truck
Luckyr

Re: What about using exhaust to heat svo?

Postby coachgeo » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:55 am

Luckyr wrote:... Any ideas?
best idea for ya is "if you have not done so.... search around before you ask"

keywords exhaust wrap* WVO* oil would be a good starting point I'm guessing. Not much actually on this board on this topic mostly cause this board was spawned by folk rather educated in advance from other boards, but were tired of ego's and pimping.

Others will chime in aswell. We do need to re-explore this topic on this board IMHO rather it be for sake of newbee's like yourself who venture here or just to see if a new idea gets sparked that changes some thinking on the topic.

Present thinking.... won't work.... exhaust temp ranges varry too much, get too hot, gets heat to oil to slowly in time between start up and good temps compared to using coolant.
Life; It's all in the Balance

coachgeo

Postby mike_belben » Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:25 pm