just got an 85 bmw 524td going to drive cross country

If new, go here first. Beginner questions, Forum help, suggestions and more FAQ.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

just got an 85 bmw 524td going to drive cross country

Postby cedar » Sun May 22, 2011 7:03 pm

Hello. Im pretty new to this. the car has a grease car system installed. if anyone can point me in the right direction for filtering oil wile on the road that would be really helpful. i don't have much room, basically the trunk/back seat for storing and filtering wile on the road. im thinking 5 gallon buckets? what is possible for de-watering and filtering with this small space? i want to drive it from nyc to seattle. thank you very much for your time here.

cedar.
cedar

Postby SunWizard » Mon May 23, 2011 9:18 pm

Filtering is easy, just pump it through a 5 micron filter, bag or cartridge. Dewatering isn't easy with that small space, and is much more important. See Vegetable oil Collecting, Filtering and Dewatering for many options.
YVORMV - Your veg. oil results may vary.
95 Dodge Cummins 4x4 SVO WVO conversion.
81 Mercedes 300D- stock and happy on V80/D20 blend.
Low fossil net zero house- 100% solar power and heat.
SunWizard
Site Admin

Postby cedar » Fri May 27, 2011 10:18 am

do you suggest using a pressurized system for filtering, or pouring through? what specific parts? pump, filters etc? best for on the road? i see some info on onboard systems, but it seems like these have been fazed out? is this true. this would be great for me, if i could make it with out putting to much money into it. any suggestions are very helpful.

cedar.
cedar

Postby SunWizard » Fri May 27, 2011 10:43 am

I recommend a centrifuge above any other method, because it dewaters and filters in 1 step. No its not been phased out. But you won't fit that in the back seat easily.