WVO motorcycle

If new, go here first. Beginner questions, Forum help, suggestions and more FAQ.

Moderators: SunWizard, coachgeo

WVO motorcycle

Postby lynn » Sun Oct 02, 2011 3:27 pm

I'm so glad to have found this forum and I hope to receive help and to eventually be able to help others. Thank you for doing this work.

I'm new to the WVO world but I'm already hooked. For the past year I've be planning and building a WVO motorcycle for an environmental art project and I've finally reached the point where I need to finalize the fuel components and I need help. I've installed a 3 cylinder Kubota engine, a D622 in a chopper frame. Two steel tanks are awaiting the fittings to connect to the engine but I'm now a bit confused about several issues and I need some advice. I'm using an electric fuel pump and I don't fully understand how to prevent the grease tank from contaminating the clean tank. I built a heat exchanger that will use the coolant to warm the WVO fuel before entering the fuel pump but I have not enough amps, (the alternator puts out 45amps, the spal fan draws 19amps) to run an electric heating element for the tank so I wonder how to deal with the WVO congealing in the tank? My plan before I read much of anything was to wait for the engine to reach temp, ( when the fan came on) and then open the grease tank side...all was well in my mind until I realized I would need a fuel return on both sides of the tanks! How do you prevent air from being sucked into the system when you change over and run the grease out? Anyway...I guess you can see where I am in the learning curve.

If anyone has any advice so that I can finish this project I would very much appreciate any help. Thank you, Lynn

P.S. I've yet to put the bottoms on the tanks so I can still make modifications to the tanks. Obviously space is an issue.
lynn

Re: WVO motorcycle

Postby SunWizard » Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:01 pm